Skip to content ↓
St Andrew's College Dublin St Andrew's College Dublin

Mathematics

Subject co-ordinator:  Ms Paula Cadden

Maths Teacher's Name Contact
Ms Cadden pcadden@st-andrews.ie
Ms Crowe fcrowe@st-andrews.ie
Mr Doel cdoel@st-andrews.ie
Ms Gillane jgillane@st-andrews.ie
Ms Griffin lgriffin@st-andrews.ie
Mr McCaughan gmccaughan@st-andrews.ie
Mr Mahon jmahon@st-andrews.ie
Ms O'Hanlon pohanlon@st-andrews.ie
Ms Phipps sphipps@st-andrews.ie
Mr Reeves greeves@st-andrews.ie
Ms Walker nwalker@st-andrews.ie
Mr Macken smacken@st-andrews.ie
Ms Carroll ccarroll@st-andrews.ie

The Mathematics Department is located on the first floor of the Collen Building.   Each room is equipped with an interactive whiteboard. Currently there are  thirteen teachers in the department, a dynamic team with a passion for mathematics.

We teach the Ordinary and Higher level syllabi to both Junior and Leaving Certificate standard and offer Foundation level where appropriate. The IB course offers Higher level, Standard level and Maths Studies.  The classes are set according to the student’s ability and we cater for students of all abilities.

In First Year all students compete in the Junior Mathematics Competition. This competition helps to discover those students with a very high standard of mathematical ability.   Based on Junior Certificate results, some students are invited to compete in The Irish Mathematical Olympiad Competition. In Sixth Year a team represents the College in a national Leaving Certificate Mathematics Competition.

Useful websites:
www.education.ie for the syllabus
www.examinations.ie   for exam papers and marking schemes